Wednesday, September 30, 2009

KROQ AFI Release Party Live Post

AFI has officially finished their Crash Love Record Release performance at The Roxy. In a setlist including 6 To 8 and everything from Ny Quil to Beautiful Thieves, to a stage appearance by Nick 13 and Geoff Kresge, Davey stood atop the crowd for an entire song. KROQ was on the scene, and is currently broadcasting live recordings of the show. We’ve got links to dozens of pictures throughout this post, and we’ve just added the setlist to the bottom of the post. Here’s a picture from the sound check earlier this evening. Enjoy!
We even have a member of the AFI News HQ team at The Roxy tonight, Alex. He will post a review of the party and the performance at some point Wednesday or Thursday. For now, let the games begin…
5:20 p.m. PST – AFI soundchecked the following songs: Hearts Frozen Solid, Nyquil, Veronica Sawyer Smokes, Torch Song, End Transmission, Just Like Heaven. (Source: Mark, PanasonicYouth)
6:15 p.m. PST – DJ Nicole is now broadcasting live from The Roxy! She will have an interview with AFI and will be playing some live recordings of AFI’s show tonight.
7:00 p.m. PST – DJ Nicole just said AFI is about to go on stage. She has completed her interview with them and we will likely hear snippets from it through the night. Stay tuned!

7:04 p.m. PST – Rick Savage, a KROQ DJ, has posted this photo of Davey live at The Roxy. Here is another photo, and here is another. Here’s yet another picture of Davey and Jade.
7:10 p.m. PST – Visit for more AFI photos! More pictures here and here. (That last one is of Davey standing on the crowd!) Here’s a picture from Nicole and here’s another picture of Davey on the crowd. Here’s another Davey walker.
7:15 p.m. PST – Nicole tells us that Davey somersaulted into the crowd and was caught. He stood on top of the crowd and sang the entire song. There was no mention of what that song was. More pictures from Nicole: here and here.
7:25 p.m. PST – Here’s a picture of Hunter. Jade says “Crash Love” was “born” on November 3, 2007. KROQ IS BROADCASTING AFI PLAYING GIRL’S NOT GREY LIVE RIGHT NOW.
7:30 p.m. PST – We’ve just gotten word through Twitter that AFI played songs (plural) from The Art of Drowning. Here’s an official picture from The Roxy posted to Twitter by AFI.
7:35 p.m. PST – AFI covered The Cure’s “Just Like Heaven.” Here’s a picture from Nicole. Thanks to Mike, you can now download a rip of AFI playing Girl’s Not Grey live at The Roxy Crash Love Record Release Show! Click here to grab it.
7:40 p.m. PST – AFI joined by Nick 13 onstage! Pictures here and here. KROQ IS NOW BROADCASTING SILVER AND COLD LIVE FROM THE ROXY. Click here to download it, thanks to Mike.
7:55 p.m. PST – Here is a picture of Davey and here is a picture of Adam and Jade. Here is the shot of the night: a clear picture of Davey screaming. He is wearing a dotted red and black shirt. Here’s another picture of Davey on his knees screaming.
8:05 p.m. PST – AFI is offstage. KROQ will be playing more from the show and the interview soon, including the “Just Like Heaven” cover. We’ll keep you posted on that.
8:12 p.m. PST – We have just learned that AFI played Ny-Quil and was joined onstage by Nick 13 and Geoff Kresge.
Here is the setlist according to “Ramon’s Twitter.”
1. Torch Song
2. Girl’s Not Grey
3. Beautiful Thieves
4. Kill Caustic
5. Silver and Cold
6. Hearts Frozen Solid…
7. End Transmission
8. Death of Seasons
9. Just Like Heaven
10. Nyquil (with Nick 13 and Geoff)
11. Love Like Winter
12. Medicate
13. 6 to 8
14. Miss Murder

No comments:

Post a Comment